Maze Runner Review (book)

I read and finished the book “The Maze Runner” last week.  I read it because the movie is coming out soon and my sister kept posting things about the movie saying how awesome it is going to be.  I think she also meant how “hot” the main character is, but whatever.  I still decided to read it.

Overall, the book was pretty good.  It has suspense, action and some mystery.  It obviously falls in line with a lot of the other movies that are being made right now which means that it is set in the future and deals with some dystopian themes.

After finishing the book I immediately pulled up the trailer on YouTube to watch it and see how it looks.  To my disappointment, although I should have expected it, the movie looks very different.  You can really tell they are changing many things for the movie.  The 3 things that I can tell are different from the trailer don’t seem to be horribly different, but that doesn’t bode well for the rest of the movie.  I’m going to see the movie on Friday (if my wife finishes the book) and then I’ll write a post comparing the book to the movie.

Overall I’d give the book a 6/10 so its a decent read if you have free time.  It goes by pretty quick.  I’m not sure if I’ll read the other books in the series because many reviews say they get worse and worse as the series goes on.

What are your thoughts on The Maze Runner?  Have you read it?  Do you plan on seeing the movie?

– Jacob

Leave a Reply

