Periods and the Two Spaces After Them.

Today’s daily prompt asks:

“We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!”

I hate texting lingo.  When I text I write things as if I’m writing a paper for school.  I never abbreviate things or use numbers as parts of a word.  I always capitalize my letters when needed and I use proper punctuation.  I know it is supposed to be faster and easier but I just hate it.  I hate reading it and I can’t make myself type it (unless I’m doing it on purpose to be stupid or make fun of it).

Along with that, I was taught in a keyboarding class my freshman year in high school that you are supposed to put two spaces after a sentence when typing.  Ever since then I have always done that.  Later in life I learned that a lot of people don’t like that (although I’m not sure how they notice) and that some people even think that is wrong.  Apparently it was a type writer thing and you don’t need to do it on computers but that is what I was taught and for some reason I always do it.  You can check through all my posts on here and find two spaces after each period.

What are your weird punctuation habits?

– Jacob

4 thoughts on “Periods and the Two Spaces After Them.

  1. Pingback: Punctuation And Misfits | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

