Bill Cosby Made Me Hate the Word “Mature”

Today’s daily prompt asks:

“Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?”

Bill Cosby first taught me that I could hate the word “mature”.

Bill-Cosby-Autographed-8x10

I used to watch the Cosby Show as reruns aired on Nick at Nite when I was younger.  I loved the show.  I thought it was funny and I had a crush on Denise.  But I hated the way Mr. Huxtable pronounced the word “mature”.  He would say it with a hard “T” and really emphasize its place in the word.  It drove me crazy.  Almost as crazy as Denise Huxtable made a young me.

tumblr_lq8p57OWMI1qlw12eo1_500

I began to always notice when people would say the word this way.  I had a professor in college who would speak the word this way and it drove me crazy.  He eventually found out that I hated it and would use it intentionally around me.

I was once listening to a public speaker and really enjoyed his message but then he pronounced “mature” the way I hate so I stopped listening to him.  I realize that is not very mature but I just can’t stand it when people say the word that way.

– Jacob

One thought on “Bill Cosby Made Me Hate the Word “Mature”

Leave a Reply

