Terminal Time

Today’s daily prompt asks:

“You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?”

I don’t think I’ve ever been in an airport for more than 3 hours.  That was once while I was traveling internationally.  I also always bring my phone with my and usually have my iPad with me as well. 

On one hand I would probably be pretty upset.  I’d be upset that my flight got delayed that long (who wouldn’t?) and I’d be upset that I’d be bored out of my mind.  I’m not one to strike up a conversation with a stranger in the airport.  But on the other hand I think it would be nice to have a forced 6 hours with no technology.  I often think to myself “I need to spend a day without my phone/computer/iPad…” but then I never actually follow through because its just there.  If I was forced to have some time away from it I think I would ultimately enjoy it.

I would hope that my 6 hour delay was in the Las Vegas airport.  Most other airports I’ve been in (Houston, Chicago, New York, Denver, Dallas, Oakland and Wichita) are all very boring.  You can’t hardly tell one from the other when you are inside of them and there is really nothing to do.  The Las Vegas airport however has slot machines.  This would help me pass some of my time.  I think I would alternate between reading a book or magazine and playing a slot machine.  I’d have to be careful to not spend all my money gambling though, haha.

-Jacob

One thought on “Terminal Time

  1. Pingback: coming home | Musings of a Random Mind

Leave a Reply

