Radical by David Platt

If you haven’t heard of this book here is what is written on the back:

“What is Jesus worth to you?

It’s easy for American Christians to forget how Jesus said his followers would actually live, what their new lifestyle would actually look like. They would, he said, leave behind security, money, convenience, even family for him. They would abandon everything for the gospel. They would take up their crosses daily…

But who do you know who lives like that? Do you?”

Radical-Taking-Back-Your-Faith-from-the-American-Dream

The book was published in 2010 so many of you may have read it by now but I just finished going through it with a small group and I wanted to do a mini-review on it.  I am going to give my thoughts on both the book and the video series that goes along with it because we read/watched both of them in the group.

The Book:

I loved it.  The book makes a lot of good points (although he does repeat himself a few times) that I think are very good and thought provoking.  My post from a few weeks ago about our response to the homeless was from something I read in the book that got me thinking.  Overall, it wrestles with the idea that being a follower of Jesus Christ is a big decision, one that should ultimately change your life in a huge way yet there are tons of people who say they are christians but look no different.  Pretty good and challenging stuff.  It’s also an easy read.  It will go by quickly and isn’t something that will be hard for you to understand.

The Video Series:

I hated it.  You might be wondering how I can hate the video series since it is based on the book that I loved and trust me, I was wondering the same thing each and every week.  Part of it is I just really did not like his delivery and speaking style.  David Platt is a good writer, but he turned me away as a public speaker.  Also, the video doesn’t exactly line up with the book so sometimes I felt like the weeks didn’t really go together.

Overall I would recommend the book to people.  As I said, it is a quick and easy read but it also touches on subjects that are very important.  It will challenge you to look at your life and say “am I really following Jesus with everything”?  But don’t watch the video series, you’ll waste your time.

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

