My Trip to Colorado

I got to spend the last 5 days in Colorado. It was a wonderful time of relaxation and hanging out with family. Here are some highlights from the trip:

Denver International Airport:

I flew, so obviously I spent some time in Denver’s airport.  If you are not familiar with the conspiracy surrounding Denver International Airport feel free to read about it here.  I was able to find a few of the murals during my exit and take pictures of them.  I’m not saying I totally believe it all, but it is very interesting.  What do you think?

Image

Image

 

Image

Voodoo Doughnuts:

I go to Portland a few times a year for my job as a youth pastor in the Northwest Yearly Meeting of Friends Churches.  While I am there I am always too busy doing youth ministry things that I am never able to get away to Voodoo Doughnuts.  I was very excited when I heard they were opening a branch in Denver because that meant I could visit whenever I was in town to see my wife’s family.  I have to say (don’t kill me) that it was not my favorite doughnut experience.  The restaurant offers no seating either inside or outside.  You literally buy your doughnuts and leave.  Lame.  They also didn’t let me select my own dozen.  I had to let the worked pick my dozen or pay extra.  That was OK since it was my first time there but if I returned I would want to pick my favorites which wouldn’t be allowed.  The food was good, but given those reasons and a few others I wouldn’t be in a rush to go back.  Here is where I plug my FAVORITE doughnut place EVER!  If you are ever in Wichita, KS you MUST go to the Donut Whole.  It is everything that Voodoo Doughnuts was missing to me and more.

Image

Time With Family:

A year ago I may have titled this section “Time With My In-Lawas” but the more time I spend with them the more they become like family.  This was the main reason for the tip and it was great to spend time with them and see how much my niece and nephews have grown.  We went out to eat dinner at this AMAZING restaurant called The Post Brewery one night which had the best fried chicken I’ve ever had.  I also spend countless hours playing with kids and realized that while I do want kids of my own, I am happy to wait a few more years.

Image

Image

Image

As I said before, it was a great few days to just relax and enjoy family.  Now I am back to work and planning a high school church camp which is exactly one month away.  Ahh!  I am also starting a blogging challenge tomorrow that will give me daily prompts to encourage me to write on here more.

Any vacations plans in your future?  Did you just get back from a trip?  Tell us about it in the comments!

-Jacob

 

 

Leave a Reply

