#Selfie

If you haven’t heard the song #Selfie by The Chainsmokers I urge you to pause what you are doing and listen to the song.

You can also watch the official music video here.  But be warned, the video is a little explicit even though it has a great cameo by David Hasselhoff.

I love this song for a two reasons.  One, it’s so dumb its funny.  Like, that fact that this is a song that is getting played on the radio as I drive to work is hilarious.  I like to imagine some older lady or grandpa stumbling across this song and crying for todays youth.  The second reason is that this song epitomizes todays youth so perfectly.  I think that this song is the cry of a generation.  I work in a high school day in and day out and I can honestly see some of the kids behaving in this way.  I think I’ve ever heard kids use “lyrics” from this song in every day conversation before this song was created.

“Can you guys help me pick a filter?”

“I only got like 10 likes in the last 5 minutes do you think I should take it down?”

People getting called a “creep” because they liked a picture on Instagram.

And of course…

“SELFIE!”

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

