Memories of an Old House

One of my favorite shows on TV is NBC’s Parenthood.  My wife got me into it and I love it.  One of this season’s main story lines deals with the grandparents of the show debating on selling their house and how some of the kids deal with it.  The grandma wants to sell it and move and the grandpa and one of the sons have struggles with the idea of that.  To me, it seemed dumb to be attached to a house.  I also know someone in real life who has this mindset and it just seemed to make no sense to me.  I moved when I was in 6th grade and I can honestly say that I was not sad about it at all but that was probably because I would be getting my own room instead of sharing with my brother so I didn’t care.

Today my grandma is moving out of her house that she has lived in for the past 42 years and I can honestly say that I am a little sad that I will never get to go to that house again.  I have many memories in that house, many more than I ever thought I did until her moving made me think about them all.  Some of those memories include:

– Thanksgiving.  This might be the biggest.  I’ve had Thanksgiving dinner at that house 23 out of 24 Thanksgivings.  When I think of Thanksgiving I immediately think of that house.

– Going over every Saturday night without fail as a kid so my parents could have a date night.  I remember playing games with my grandparents and watching Nickelodeon’s All That every week.

– She would give us candy when we’d visit (which I’m sure she will still do), but she had a specific “candy drawer” that you got to go through every time you left her house.

– My brother and I used to try to sneak around into the kitchen when we were younger to sneak food.  We thought we were so sneaky but my grandpa would always catch us.

– Throwing a tennis ball on her roof and catching it as it rolled down.

I have known for a while that she was moving but last night my sister tweeted that it was her last time sitting in my grandma’s house and the reality of it all kind of hit me.  Thankfully, my grandma is just moving.  Next time I go down there to visit I will still be able to see her and talk with her.  I’m not losing her, just her house.  Not everybody can say that so for that I am thankful.  But it is a bit sad that I will never be able to go to that house again.  I can now understand NBC’s Parenthood a bit more.

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

