My Problem With SNL

This is a meaningless post.

Don’t get me wrong, I love SNL.  I have watched it for as long as I can remember and am never one of those people who say things like “it’s not as good as it once was” or “now that so-and-so left there is no point in watching anymore”.  Of course I miss Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader but I also love the new cast members from this season like Noel Wells and Beck Bennett (despite their sometimes low screen time).  But recently it seems like the “live” aspect of SNL is going away.

Take last week’s episode hosted by Jonah Hill.  Three of the eight skits were pre-taped and not performed in front of the audience but rather shown on a screen.  Two of the three weren’t even funny (in my opinion).  The only good one from the night was the parody of the Her trailer.  And that is something that I think is a good use of a pre-taped skit.  The other two skits which consisted of some hit men sitting in a car enjoying the snow and a rabbit and one about some SoCal boys hosting a semi-talk show in their friends house could have been done live.  The show does plenty of talk show skits live and the hit men skit could have worked live as well.  There was no need for it to be pre-recorded.

Pre-taped skits should consist of fake movie trailers, fake commercials and music videos.  If they aren’t one of those things I think it should be done live.

How about you?  What are some of your favorite SNL skits?

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

