Humans: Naturally Good or Evil?

This question is a question that has plagued mankind forever.  Are people naturally good or are people naturally evil?

After spending Christmas with my niece and nephews (ages 1-2) I have decided that mankind of naturally evil.  Evil sounds like a harsh word.  Maybe bad is a better way to put it.  I’m not sure, but those kids made me come to this realization.  Now don’t get me wrong, they are precious.  I absolutely love them and loved spending time with them.  But watching them open gifts and then proceed to fight, scream, throw things and cry at each other all morning made me come to this realization.  My one nephew proceeded to shout “ITS MY TOY!” to his cousin after she kept trying play with his brand new toy.  This is not a behavior he saw modeled somewhere.  I know for a fact he doesn’t watch movies or TV shows that show this type of behavior.  He didn’t learn it from his parents.  It was just his basic instinct.  And (hopefully) his parents will raise him and teach him that that is not acceptable behavior and he will LEARN to be nice and polite and an overall good person.

And I do think that overall the general population is more good than bad.  But I think that we all start out bad and have to learn good behavior.

What are your thoughts?  Agree or disagree?

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

