The Gospel of Kanye West and Katy Perry

It’s not too often that we get positive messages from rappers and pop music.  The radio recently has consisted of blurred lines, twerking butts and EDM club grinding tracks.  These songs are great to dance to (except Blurred Lines, I hate that song) and are fun, but not exactly morally good songs.  So I was surprised when I read about the new tour from Kanye West including a Christ figure with a surprisingly positive message and also when I turned on the radio yesterday morning and heard a great song from Katy Perry.

Kanye West is no stranger to controversy.  With his album name (Yeezus) causing many people to be offended and a twitter feud with Jimmy Kimmel over an interview he did many would not have expected this on his recent tour.  Kanye’s Yeezus tour features his entire Yeezus album being performed live and many more.  The lyrics are definitely explicit, but near the end of the concert a Christ figure walks out and dialogues with Kanye.  You can watch the clip here, but be prepared for some language.

The Jesus character says “I didn’t come here to make bad people feel good.  I came here to make dead people alive.  To show people the light.”

Wow.  That is one of the last things I would’ve expected from a Kanye show.  And then following up this skit we get Kanye’s song “Jesus Walks” which also has some very good messages.  I’m not saying that Kanye is going out bringing thousands of people to Christianity, but I bet throughout all of his shows some people may hear a message they’ve never heard before.  Who knows.

And then we have Katy Perry.  She doesn’t have nearly as many explicit songs as Kanye does, but she does have a few.  But she also has very uplifting songs such as “Firework”.  So when I turned my radio on yesterday and it came in on the chorus of her new song “Unconditionally” I was really pleased to hear this on the radio.

Clearly she is singing to another person.  The first verse kind of gives that away.  But this could easily be a song from God to you.  The chorus and the second verse really give that feeling.

“So come just as you are to me
Don’t need apologies
Know that you are all worthy
I’ll take your bad days with your good
Walk through the storm I would
I do it all because I love you
I love you

Unconditional, unconditionally
I will love you unconditionally
There is no fear now
Let go and just be free
I will love you unconditionally”

-Katy Perry or God

If this album is anything like Perry’s last, we can expect to hear this song on the radio for the next year or so and I’d be okay with this.

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

