I Know Nothing

This Friday I will be turning 24 and I will be singing Taylor Swift’s song 22 but changing all the numbers to 24 all day long.  I can’t wait.

But yesterday I was just thinking about my birthday and I had a weird thought.  I’m considered an adult by the definition of the word.  I’m married, I have two jobs, I live and pay rent for my own apartment, I’ve graduated college.  Blah, blah, blah.  To an outsider, or more likely to the 20 teenagers I work with on a weekly basis, I may seem like I have it all figured out.  But I don’t.

When I was in high school I’m sure that my youth pastor was about the age I am now.  And even still, the other people in my life that I thought were so old (20’s) and seemed to me at the time to know everything I am now realizing probably did not know everything.  For the most part, I do ‘know’ a lot of things.  I have a knowledge of a lot of things, I learned how to do things that come with living on your own and I live fairly well.  But there is still so much I don’t know.  And even more stuff that I don’t even know that I don’t know.

And that’s a humbling thought.

“A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool.”
-Shakespeare 

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

