Message To My Childhood Self

I’m not one to really think about how I would go back in time and change things for myself.  I am pretty content with the choices I’ve made and I am of the school of thought that thinks even my “mistakes” made me to the person I am today so I’m not sure that changing them would be in my best interest.  If you’ve seen the movie “The Butterfly Effect you may understand my thought process even more.

So it is safe to say that I haven’t really thought about what I’d say to myself if I could go back in time.  To be honest, I’d probably try and do something like Biff does in Back To The Future 2″ and give me information that I could use to make a profit off of.  But if I really think about it I would probably tell myself the most cliche answer of all time: Be yourself.

Image

By the time I got to high school I had this pretty much figured out.  There is no need to try and “fit in” or to fake enjoying something else just because all the other people are doing it.  But in elementary school, fourth through sixth grade, I tried to alter myself to what others were doing.

I started wearing this obnoxious chain necklace for a while because other kids at my school had them.  In 6th grade I gelled my hair straight back with admittedly too much hair gel because a popular kid in my class did the same thing to his hair.  Thankfully I could not find any pictures from that phase.  But I was doing these outward things that were not me just to try and fit in when what I really needed to do was just be myself.

God created each and every one of us special for a reason.  If He needed someone to have certain traits or characteristics He would have given them to that person.  You are who you are for a reason even if it isn’t clear to you at this time.  Now thats a message worth sharing to anybody.  We can’t go back in time and tell our younger versions, but we can share that message today.

You have the option to share it with a sibling, a friend, a niece or nephew.  I try to share it with the kids in my youth group each week and my sponsored child as I write to him each month.

Be Yourself.  Who do you need to tell?

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

