The Office finale

Image

 

The series finale of The Office was last night.  The show started back in 2005 when I was a freshman in high school.  8 years and 9 seasons later I can honestly say that it will probably be one of the best shows I will ever watch.

I was watching Modern Family (another show I like) today and was thinking to myself; “I just can’t see myself being as emotionally invested to this show and its characters, no matter how long it airs, like I was to The Office”.  And thats what I think The Office did so well.  Yes, it was a comedy with horribly funny and awkward situations but it also had heart.  Michael Scott, the bumbling idiot, was also a very caring man and somebody you loved despite how many stupid or inappropriate things he said.  Dwight and Jim pranked each other constantly and even fought, but deep down they cared for each other.

It also just ended at the right time in my life that I think made it a little more meaningful to me. Just last year I graduated from college and left a really amazing group of friends.  The past weekend I was back there to see my brother graduate and got to spend the weekend with all those friends.  It was an amazing time of catching up and laughing and creating new memories, even over a 5 day weekend.  I’ll always cherish those guys and those days.  Ed Helm’s character Andy Bernard summed it up quite nice in the finale by saying:

“I wish there was a way to know you were in the good old days while you were actually in them”. 
-Andy Bernard

I knew that I was in the good old days when I was in college.  I didn’t take them for granted.  But that doesn’t it make it any easier to leave them or the people you love behind.  I know I’ll see them again throughout my life, just like I’ll watch re-runs of The Office, but its never quite the same as when you were currently in them.

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

