My Oscar Predictions

The Academy Awards are in a few days and although if a movie or actor that I picked doesn’t win an award my opinion on the movie or their performance won’t change I am going to make my predictions in the 24 categories as a mental guessing warm up for March Madness.  Brackets will start being made in a few weeks and I need to sharpen my lucky guessing skills.  If my Oscar picks yield good results then I am already ahead of the game for March Madness since I’ve only seen 3 of the 9 films nominated for best picture (Beasts of the Southern Wild, Life of Pi and Les Mis), Brave, Skyfall and Wreck-It-Ralph.

Best Picture – Argo

Best Actor – Daniel Day Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress – Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Director – Steven Spielberg (Lincoln)

Supporting Actor – Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

Supporting Actress – Anne Hathaway (Les Mis)

Documentary – Searching for Sugar Man

Documentary Short – Redemption

Foreign Film – Amour

Animated Feature – Brave

Cinematography – Life of Pi

Makeup & Hairstyling – Les Mis

Production Design – Les Mis

Original Screenplay – Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)

Adapted Screenplay – David Magee (Life of Pi)

Animated Short Film – Paperman

Live Action Short Film – Death of a Shadow

Visual Effects – The Hobbit

Costume Design – Lincoln

Film Editing – Zero Dark Thirty

Sound Mixing – Les Mis

Sound Editing – Zero Dark Thirty

Original Score – Life of Pi

Original Song – Skyfall by Adele (Skyfall)

-Jacob

Leave a Reply

